Ephesians 4:1-3

I am interested in passages that talk about taking off and putting on. They seem to overlap with “fruit” passages with also grab my interest. I would like to summarize the big picture of what we take off and what we put on (which I believe is very similar to saying “fruit of the flesh, fruit of the Spirit.”

Eph 4:1-3 As a prisoner for the Lord, then, I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received. Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love. Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace.

1Παρακαλῶ οὖν ὑμᾶς ἐγὼ δέσμιος ἐν κυρίῳ ἀξίως περιπατῆσαι τῆς κλήσεως ἧς ἐκλήθητε, 2μετὰ πάσης ταπεινοφροσύνης καὶ πραΰτητος, μετὰ μακροθυμίας, ἀνεχόμενοι ἀλλήλων ἐν ἀγάπῃ, 3σπουδάζοντες τηρεῖν τὴν ἑνότητα τοῦ πνεύματος ἐν τῷ συνδέσμῳ τῆς εἰρήνης:

Key ideas/words: Live (walk) a life worthy of your calling, humble, gentle, patient, bearing with one another in love, put effort into the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace

In the the coming weeks, I would like to meander through some of the key words here.

1 comment so far

  1. Kacie on

    Hi – I don’t know who you are, only saw your comment on the Jesus Creed blog about Sarah Palin speech. I too have a Downs brother, who is 13 now. Boy, seeing the little guy up there and hearing them defend his little life made me so proud, and remember (like you) how fragile and beautiful my little brother was at that age. It’s something no one else completely understands, I think. 🙂


Leave a Reply

