Chrysalis

This summer, I read “Chrysalis” by Alan Jamieson.

It is almost cliche to be amazed at the transformation of caterpillar to butterfy, but it is still amazing. I guess I had never quite realized that the caterpillar seems to be completely broken down into goo and then reformed as a butterfly. I did find a Wired article (http://blog.wired.com/wiredscience/2008/03/butterflies-rem.html) citing a study that butterflies remember what they learned as caterpillars, which challenges some notions. The metamorphosis process is amazing.

For some reason, the fact that Monarch butterflies have a wide range of vision – they can see a broad spectrum of light, including infra-red, grabs me. To go from caterpillar to graceful, beautiful, flying, butterfly, with amazing vision of light that humans cannot see – it is amazing.

It is a small book, but it inspired a lot of thought for me. If I can get those thoughts into words, I would like to express some of them here.

Note to self: find another adjective besides “amazing!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

