How to Deal with Annoying People, Chapter 3

Discusses the ask/tell and task/relationship aspects of personalities, which mix to make four personality types: analytical, driver, amiable, expressive. (If I am not mistaken, these would relate to Gary Smalley’s beaver, lion, golden retriever, otter)

I am tell/task which makes me a driver. I would so much prefer to be called analytical than driver. Hey – I am a programmer and I think a lot and try to synthesize as much information as possible before making any decision. That seems pretty analytical. Oh well, “driver” it is.

 My wonderful, lovely, lovable wife is amiable (ask/relationship). Is it any wonder we get along so well? I have seen (up close and personal) such relationships be perverted such that the amiable is taken advantage of by the driver. This worries me. I know it is in me to do the same. I hope I support and nourish my amiable wife instead of taking advantage of her.

I think there are many subterranean issues that are not considered in a quick survey such as found in this chapter. I personally struggle with fear and indecision internally. If someone were to quickly stereotype me as a driver they would never realize this about me. Still, such approaches have proved through the years to be interesting ways to think of others and to gain some insight into their behavior.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

