Capitalization Rules

I would like to be more consistent in capitalizing my headlines. I tend to forget which words not to capitalize.

http://www.rasmusen.org/w/capitalization.htm says this:

Do not capitalize the following words:

“In” as a preposition or as part of an infinitive (“He Wanted to Be Tall”)

Short Prepositions: “at,” “but,” “by,” “down,” “for,” “from,” “in,” “into,” “like,” “near,” “of,” “off,” “on,” “onto,” “out,” “over,” “past,” “till,” “to,” “up,” “upon,” “with.”

Long Prepositions: “about,” “above,” “across,” “after,” “against,” “along,” “among,” “around,” “before,” “behind,” “below,” “beneath,” “beside,” “between,” “beyond,” “despite,” “down,” “during,” “except,” “inside,” “outside,” “over,” “past,” “since,” “through,” “throughout,” “toward,” “under,” “underneath,” “until,” “within,” “without”.

Co-ordinating conjunction: “and,” “but,” “or,” “nor,” “for,” “so,” “yet”, “but,” “for.”

“But ” and “for” are sometimes prepositions and sometimes conjunctions.

It also says that the Chicago manual says to lowercase “to” in infinitives.

2 comments so far

  1. mlm on

    Not to be a buster, but you might want to focus on spelling too. :o) Your title is misspelled, along with two words in your opening sentence. I feel obliged to tell you, since you’re concerned with improving your consistency in writing, and I’m an editor by trade. Sorry! :o)

    Feel free to delete my comment after reading it if you would like to do so. I didn’t know how else to tell you.

  2. bobbyorr on

    I welcome any and all constructive criticism. I would like to learn to write and speak well. I fixed the errors (I think) and added an email address (howdystheories@gmail.com) to the about page. (I think the link for that darn page comes and goes at will.) Also, I think the link I used for the rules is somewhat hokey. I should use a link closer to the source.


Leave a Reply

