The Gospel Bears Fruit – Col 1:1-14

In Col 1:6, Paul says that the gospel is going out into the whole world and is bearing fruit. I have to admit, I easily get discouraged with the lack of fruit in my life. I think I see more flaws than fruit. It seems that bearing fruit is a property of the Gospel. Does this mean that it should automatically happen, whether I am consciously thinking about it or not?

 Some cross-refs that mention the Gospel going out:

Mark 1:4,11,15
4And so John came, baptizing in the desert region and preaching a baptism of repentance for the forgiveness of sins.
11And a voice came from heaven: “You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.”
15“The time has come,” he said. “The kingdom of God is near. Repent and believe the good news!”

Luke 24:46-47
46He told them, “This is what is written: The Christ will suffer and rise from the dead on the third day, 47and repentance and forgiveness of sins will be preached in his name to all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.

Acts 10:43-44
43All the prophets testify about him that everyone who believes in him receives forgiveness of sins through his name.”

 44While Peter was still speaking these words, the Holy Spirit came on all who heard the message.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

